top of page
VEBA Logo Horizontal Gradient (Color) 10

Board of Trustees

VEBA Trust’s Board of Trustees is comprised of K-12 educators, specifically school superintendents, principals, and business and finance directors. The Trustees are fiduciaries and have a duty to act prudently and in the best interest of all participants and beneficiaries. The Board of Trustees oversees all Trust and Plan operations and meets with its professional advisors and service providers a minimum of three times per year to review service provider status reports, changes in regulations, in-depth analysis of the Trust’s investments, etc. Additional meetings and conference calls are scheduled as needed.



Each of the three founding associations appoints two Trustees. The Trustees serve voluntary two-year terms, which may be renewed.

Association of Washington School Principals


  • Maria Breuder, Treasurer

Principal, McGilvra Elementary School

  • Cameron Grow

Principal, Lincoln Middle School

Washington Association of School Administrators


  • Dr. Greg Baker, Chairman

Superintendent, Bellingham Public Schools

  • Shane Backlund

Deputy Superintendent, ESD 105 

Washington Association of School Business Officials
  • Amy Fleming, Vice Chairman

Director of Accounting, Seattle Public Schools


  • Mathew Knott, Secretary

Director of Business Services, Central 

Valley School District

bottom of page