VEBA Logo Horizontal Gradient (Color) 10

Board of Trustees

VEBA Trust’s Board of Trustees is comprised of K-12 educators, specifically school superintendents, principals, and business and finance directors. The Trustees are fiduciaries and have a duty to act prudently and in the best interest of all participants and beneficiaries. The Board of Trustees oversees all Trust and Plan operations and meets with its professional advisors and service providers a minimum of three times per year to review service provider status reports, changes in regulations, in-depth analysis of the Trust’s investments, etc. Additional meetings and conference calls are scheduled as needed.



Each of the three founding associations appoints two Trustees. The Trustees serve voluntary two-year terms, which may be renewed.

Association of Washington School Principals


  • Ken Schutz, Treasurer

Principal, Joel E. Ferris High School

  • Maria Breuder

Principal, McGilvra Elementary School

Washington Association of School Administrators


  • Michael Dunn, Ed.D.

Superintendent, Northeast Washington ESD 101

  • Greg Baker, Secretary

Superintendent, Bellingham Public Schools

Washington Association of School Business Officials


  • Amy Fleming, Vice Chairman

Director of Accounting

Seattle Public Schools


  • Wayne Leonard, Chairman

Executive Director of Business & Financial Services, Mead School District